“Marlin”. Pencil Drawing.

photo_2 (15)

 

This drawing was for a friend of my wife’s.  To make a long story short, her and her girlfriends did a secret santa this year.  She thought it would be a good idea for me to draw her friend’s dog for the gift.  It has been a long time since my last pencil or charcoal drawing, so I was a little apprehensive about the task.  It ended up being similar to riding a bike.

photo_1 (18)

 I sketched first to make sure my proportions were perfect, I have never drawn a dog before, and I actually found it easier than the human form.  I could have spent hours and hours on the trees in the background, but I felt working them too much would take attention off of the important part of the image, the dog.   I used Strathmore paper and Staedtler 4B artists pencil.

photo_5 (1)

 

The framed final result turned out pretty well.  I used an 11×14″ frame matted to 8×10″.  In the future I would like to get back into charcoal and conte crayon combinations, this used to be my favorite medium.  

This little drawing got quite a reaction at the dinner party, and was a big hit.  I was very pleased that she was so happy with the drawing.

photo_3 (12)

Leave a Reply

